[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation

by Kelvin
[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation

[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation 8

Good news dear readers of Paperweight. Last month I attended the launch of the new “Motorolas” and presented my first impressions of the second generation Moto X and G.

Today, I am pleased to present the review of new Moto X, a device with good performance, which will seek to compete with the high-end this year.

  

How does it work? What features does it bring? All that and much more, we will see in the following paragraphs, but before continuing, I would like thank Motorola Chile for providing us with the device and making this review possible.

Let's get started!

Box contents

IMG_20141025_151813 ~ 2

The box of the new Moto X is quite simple and includes, in addition to the phone: manuals, charger, a USB cable and the tool to extract the nano SIM, but no Bring headphones.

specs

Dimensions140.8 x 72.4 x 10 mm.
Weight144 grams
screen5.2 ″ AMOLED 1080 × 1920 (~ 424 pixels per inch).
SpeakersYes, monaural.
MemoryInternal: 32 GB not expandable.
ProcessorQualcomm Snapdragon 801 Quad Core at 2.5 GHz.
RAM2 GB
Mobile networks
  • 2G 850/800/1800/1900 MHz.
  • 3G 850/900/1900/2100 MHz.
  • 4G LTE 850/1700/1800/1900/2600 Mhz.
WifiWi-Fi 802.11 a / b / g / n / ac, dual band, DLNA, Wi-Fi hotspot.
Bluetooth4.0
NFCYes
PC connectionMicroUSB 2.0
Rear camera13 MP (4128 x 3096 pixels) with autofocus and double LED flash.
VideoUp to 4K at 30 frames per second (FPS).
Frontal camera2 MP
Others
  • Gorilla Glass 3 protection.
  • A-GPS with GLONASS.
  • Microphone for noise cancellation.
  • 2300 mAh battery
  • Android 4.4.4 KitKat (upgradeable to 5.0 Lollipop)
  • Voice commands customized by Motorola.

Design

Cover 2

On the front we will find the panel 5.2-inch full HD AMOLED, accompanied by four motion sensors, the 2 megapixel front camera and what would be two stereo speakers at the ends, but no, just a speaker is used to play music. The keypad, as it has been in recent Motorola models, are integrated into the screen, so the only physical buttons will be found on the right side: those of Power and volume up / down.

right lat

The left side lacks buttons, while in the back, we will find a Gummy touch that gives good grip, but nevertheless, it gets dirty easily, so if it's something that bothers you, I would recommend that you buy a case.

[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation 9

At the bottom, there is the micro USB port to connect to the power or a PC, while at the top, we find the input for the headphones, next to the card slot nano SIM. Eye, it is not possible to remove the back cover of the device, therefore, we cannot remove the battery.

3.5 jack

Speaking of back cover, the 13 megapixel camera with dual LED flash, which are in the form of a ring surrounding it. Under this, we find the gap with the Motorola logo.

[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation 10

When you take the device, you feel a team solid and firm. Its aluminum edges, together with the rubbery touch of the back, give it Firmness and excellent grip.

One of the questions that many ask themselves when viewing a device over five inches has to do with its size. How big is the Moto X second generation? Let me tell you that it's not a big team. While I used it, I had no trouble keeping it in my pocket or using it with one hand. You may not be familiar with the size of the screen at first, but as you use the phone, you adapt and change your mind.

screen

Cover C1

In the new Moto X, we have a 5.2-inch AMOLED panel, with Full HD resolution. Let me tell you that I am delighted with the screen, the colors look good, although of course, AMOLEDs tend to have better blacks than whites, in addition to more efficient energy consumption.

If you are someone who plays, watches a lot of videos, and reads ebooks, you won't have any problem, neither with the colors, nor the resolution.

Camera

[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation 11

The new Moto X has a 13 megapixel rear camera with dual LED flashwhile the front camera is 2 megapixels. The photos with both sensors are good, but they seem to have a warm tone, and when using the front camera in places with low light, it slows down. Anyway, this is solved perfectly with a future update. Remember that Motorola announced that this model will be updated to Android 5.0 Lollipop, So these problems will be solved in the next update.

Screenshot_2014-10-24-18-24-11 - Edited

Regarding the camera interface, it is the same as we saw in the first Moto X, in which to take a photo, we will only have to press on the screen. Some of the options that the camera software brings, are to activate / deactivate the flash, select the quality of photos and recording, activate HDR, etc.

Screenshot_2014-10-24-18-24-18 - Edited

Another element that keeps the previous model, is the gesture of shaking the device to activate the camera, something very useful in case you need an urgent photo.

To draw your conclusions on the camera, here are some photos and videos that I have captured in various situations:

Sunny day

[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation 12

CAN 2Low light

LOW LIGHTNight

IMG_20141025_203253276 (1)Nearby object

NEAR OBJ

Full HD video

4K video

OS

Untitled drawing

The one in charge of moving the threads in this device is Android 4.4.4 KitKat (will be updated to 5.0 Lollipop), which comes without major alterations by Motorola. The only changes with respect to pure Android, is the inclusion of new functions that facilitate and improve the mobile experience.

Untitled drawing (1)

The most important of them is the application "Motorcycle" which brings together four main functions:

  • Assist: What was once a separate application, Motorola unified everything into one. Assist, as in the previous Moto X, will allow us program usage profiles so that the phone behaves differently when we enter one of them. These profiles are: sleeping, driving, home and meeting. For example, in the profile sleeping, we will configure the device so that when we are sleeping, it is silent and deactivates the Active Notifications.
  • Actions: In this option, it will show you the fcell movement anointing. For example, when we bring your hand to the cell phone, show us the latest notifications through Active Notifications, or when we shake the cell phone, the camera is activated.
  • Voice: This is one of the functions that remains from the previous model, however, it has been significantly improved. It will no longer be necessary to say “OK Google Now” for activate voice commands, We can choose a custom one.The list of commands have also been updated and as news, now you can order the phone to take a selfie, send a message on WhatsApp or look for a video on YouTube.
  • Screen: Here you will find the settings of Active Notifications, which consist of Show incoming notifications when the phone is idle.

ActNot2 - Edited

Benchmarking

Untitled drawing (2)

Regarding performance, I must say that the equipment is very fluid and never presented any freezing or lag. I played Real Racing 3, Batman, Critical Strike Portable and Rival Knights, none of them had problems. In social networks and messaging, I didn't have them either, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and WhatsApp, they worked perfectly.

In addition, I subjected the device to performance tests with AnTuTu Benchmark Y 3D Mark. These are the results:

Team / SOAntutu3D Mark
Motorola Moto X (2014) – KitKat 4.4.445,34218,957
Sony Xperia Z2 – KitKat 4.4.240,16918,491
LG Nexus 5 – KitKat 4.4.418,28416,260
LG Nexus 5 – Lollipop 5.0 preview33,69713,584
Sony Xperia Z1 – KitKat 4.4.436,88716,994
Samsung Galaxy S5 – KitKat 4.4.239,95118,117
Apple iPhone 5 – iOS 8.129,0106,097
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2013) – KitKat 4.4.219,4283,292

The Moto X second generation is inserted at the top of the table, consolidating Motorola's winning binomial: balance between hardware and software.

Multimedia

Untitled drawing (4)

In what is multimedia, the new Moto X includes Google Play Music as a music player and the Motorola Gallery to view photos and videos. Unfortunately, The device does not have FM Radio, so we will have to resort to applications such as TuneIn or El Telón to replace this flaw.

[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation 13

Thanks to the screen in Full HD, the quality of the videos is very good and the sounds are heard well thanks to its speaker on the front. Of course, I would have liked them to be stereo.

Untitled drawing (3)

In addition, the team integrates an equalizer with audio effects, which we can regulate to our liking.

Drums

Untitled drawing (5)

When we treat the battery in the Moto X second generation, we are facing 2300 milliamps (mAh), 100 mAh more than its predecessor.

I have quite different schedules, but generally my day starts at 10.00 AM and ends at 5.00 PM. On the way from my house to the University (and vice versa), I'm listening to music, checking emails, visiting web pages and chatting for applications like WhatsApp or Telegram. At that time, the phone is connected to the Virgin Mobile 3G network, where the coverage never drops below the 2 bars. It is important to make clear that coverage is an important factor in battery performance. If we have poor coverage, the phone uses more battery to establish a connection.

When I arrive at the university, in addition to paying attention in classes: lol: I take some photos, answer messages, make calls, and take notes in Evernote.

With normal use, the battery lasts between eleven to thirteen hours, with two to three hours of active screen, however, when you use it intensive, the duration decreases to eight and ten hours, with three to four hours of active screen. If you are of this type of user, you will probably have to bring the charger, or invest in a portable battery.

But nevertheless, the battery can improve when the update to 5.0 Lollipop is released, which promises to last up to 90 minutes and improve the energy efficiency of the device.

conclusion

[Review] Motorola Moto X second generation 14

The most important part of the review has arrived, the one in which my words take a great responsibility and you establish a bond of trust with me.

I tell you that I come from a first generation Moto G and I just started using this cell phone I said Wow! It really works well. The build quality of the cell phone is very good, Worthy of a high range, it does not feel fragile and is very comfortable to carry in your pocket.

Internally, I have nothing to say, the Snapdragon 801 along with its 2 GB of RAM do an excellent job and it shows in the performance of the Moto X. The fact that it has pure Android, together with the excellent Motorola optimization, make it in a team where The lags do not exist.

The photographs are good, despite the "little details" that I mentioned. Remember that we are talking about a cell phone, and not a professional camera.

The Achilles heel is the battery and I hope to improve with the update to Lollipop, because if you are a user hardcore, you must walk bringing the charger or an external battery, otherwise, you will not have charging problems.

The million dollar question arrives Would you recommend this cell phone? Of course yes, because we have good specifications, therefore, a excellent performance Now, My verdict changes if you have the first Moto X. In that case, I would recommend that you wait, because you still have a competent team, of good performance and that in addition, it will be updated to Lollipop.

We have reached the end of this review, I hope you enjoyed it and you have no doubts about this device. Again I thank Motorola Chile for providing us with the equipment and make this review possible, in addition, I want tothank my friend Josefa Reyes, for helping me with the pictures for this review.

Thanks total!

The good

  • Pure Android.
  • Performance and optimization.
  • Active Notifications

The bad

  • Battery (could be better).
  • It has no FM Radio.
  • It has no stereo speakers, although I thought I had them.

Gallery